Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!

On Air Now

Chris Porter
Chris Porter
6:00pm - 12:00am
Regular Show

Powered by:

Local Sports

KHSAA Proposed Football Realignment 2025-26

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WMDJ) – The KHSAA Board of Control released a proposed draft for football realignment in the 2025-26 seasons on Wednesday.


A total of 24 schools could be switching classes. One of the changes involves moving a familiar mountain foe back down to Class 2A for the first time since 2006.


When the current two-year cycle of realignment was approved last year, Belfry elected to “play-up” and remain in Class 3A although their enrollment numbers had declined. The proposed draft going forward would return the Pirates to a crowded Class 2A, District 8 joining other Pike County schools East Ridge, Pike Central and Shelby Valley along with Betsy Layne.


Class 2A, District 7 keeps the foursome of Floyd Central, Knott County Central, Martin County and Prestonsburg, while shifting Leslie County over from District 6, creating a 5-team field fighting for four playoff spots.


Class 2A, District 6 would be reshaped by adding Jackson County and Morgan County back into district competition rather than playing independently, while dropping West Carter back to 2A to join the only holdover Breathitt County to fill out the District 6.


Also rejoining district play would be Jenkins and Phelps. Both schools would be tasked to compete with Hazard, Paintsville and defending state champion Pikeville in Class 1A, District 8. Phelps last played in district competition in 2021. Jenkins restarted football as an independent last season finishing (0-10) after not having a season in 2022 and 2020. The Cavaliers last won a football game in 2016 against South Floyd.


The realignment draft must be approved by the Board of Control during a meeting in May. The Board voted to not allow teams to “play-up” in class, thus forcing Belfry and West Carter to fall from 3A to 2A competition after both schools requested to play-up during the current cycle.


Here’s a complete list of the proposed draft:



Class 1A

District 1- Ballard Memorial, Caverna, Fulton County, Russellville

District 2- Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Holy Cross (Louisville), Kentucky Country Day

District 3- Bellevue, Dayton, Newport, Newport Central Catholic

District 4- Bishop Brossart, Holy Cross (Covington), Ludlow, Trimble County

District 5- Berea, Eminence, Frankfort, Sayre District 6- Fairview, Nicholas County, Paris, Raceland

District 7- Harlan, Lynn Camp, Middlesboro, Pineville, Williamsburg

District 8- Hazard, Jenkins, Paintsville, Phelps, Pikeville


Class 2A

District 1- Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Fort Campbell, Mayfield, Todd County Central, Trigg County

District 2- Fort Knox, Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic

District 3- Clinton County, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County, Somerset

District 4- Danville, Lexington Christian, Shawnee, Washington County, WEB DuBois

District 5- Beechwood, Bracken County, Gallatin County, Owen County, St. Henry District, Walton-Verona

District 6- Breathitt County, Jackson County, Morgan County, West Carter

District 7- Floyd Central, Knott County Central, Leslie County, Martin County, Prestonsburg

District -8 Belfry, Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Pike County Central, Shelby Valley


Class 3A

District 1- Hopkins County Central, Murray, Union County, Webster County

District 2- Adair County, Butler County, Edmonson County, Glasgow, Hart County

District 3- Bardstown, Central, Christian Academy-Louisville, DeSales, Thomas Nelson, Western

District 4- Casey County, Garrard County, LaRue County, Lexington Catholic, Mercer County

District 5- Bourbon County, Carroll County, Henry County, Lloyd Memorial, Pendleton County

District 6- Bath County, East Carter, Fleming County, Lewis County, Russell

District 7- Bell County, Clay County, Knox Central, McCreary Central, Rockcastle County

District 8- Estill County, Lawrence County, Letcher County Central, Magoffin County, Powell County


Class 4A

District 1- Allen County-Scottsville, Calloway County, Franklin-Simpson, Logan County, Paducah Tilghman, Warren East

District 2- Breckinridge County, Elizabethtown, John Hardin, Marion County, Nelson County

District 3- Doss, North Oldham, Valley, Waggener

District 4- Franklin County, Shelby County, Spencer County, Western Hills

District 5- Covington Catholic, Grant County, Harrison County, Highlands, Holmes, Mason County

District 6- Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County

District 7- Boyle County, Lincoln County, Russell County, Taylor County, Wayne County

District 8- Corbin, Harlan County, Perry County Central, Whitley County


Class 5A

District 1- Apollo, Graves County, Madisonville-North Hopkins, Marshall County, Muhlenberg County, Owensboro

District 2- Barren County, Bowling Green, Grayson County, Greenwood, Ohio County, Warren Central

District 3- Atherton, Butler, Iroquois, Seneca

District 4- Bullitt Central, Fairdale, Jeffersontown, Moore, North Bullitt

District 5- Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Dixie Heights, Scott

District 6- Anderson County, Collins, Scott County, South Oldham, Woodford County

District 7- East Jessamine, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, West Jessamine

District 8- North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern


Class 6A

District 1- Christian County, Henderson County, Hopkinsville, McCracken County

District 2- Central Hardin, Daviess County, Meade County, South Warren

District 3- DuPont Manual, North Hardin, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier

District 4- Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Male, Southern

District 5- Ballard, Eastern, Oldham County, Trinity (Louisville)

District 6- Campbell County, Great Crossing, Ryle, Simon Kenton

District 7- Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Tates Creek

District 8- Bryan Station, Frederick Douglass, George Rogers Clark, Madison Central